Expertise

Public finance and performance improvement

Financial diagnosis and outlook

To perform our financial analysis on the accounts of public bodies, we offer a method developed from our past experience with the major audit network firms in their Public Sector departments. The method is based on a dynamic, multi-factor analysis, in that it uses and combines the various analytical methods developed by these major firms, the fundamentals of local public accounting through the various accounting classifications (M14, M4, M52, M71, M21…) and the principles of budget management applicable in the Public Sector. It thus provides comprehensive data processing (Management Accounts, Administrative Accounts, and primary budgets), taking several approaches :

  • Intermediate management balances, allowing an analysis of the operating results and the public entity’s degree of solvency (primary budget and ancillary budgets),
  • The public entity’s financial position statement and balance sheet showing the changes for the various entries between two financial years, and detailing the level of liquidity at the close of accounts,
  • The cash flow table, allowing a dynamic examination of changes in the public entity’s cash situation and their primary causes.

With our focus on providing support for decision-making, we have assembled materials for the presentation of results and analyses, which we will present as needed. This approach supporting public initiatives through assessments and forecasts for a particular public decision, constitutes the new approach to governance for public initiatives.

We believe that it allows for a progressive and interactive development of awareness about the key issues, in order to provide impartial support for public decisions. It is central to our approach, and adds true value to the process that we offer to you.

Management oversight, cost awareness and implementation of cost accounting

More than ever, public organisations (hospitals, local governments, public institutions for inter-municipal cooperation [EPCI], regions, and departments) and affiliated bodies are seeing the need to identify and manage the growth of their cost structures to preserve their financial leeway. Their goals can be summarised as follows: to manage public spending in order to ensure the best possible public service.

So, based on a proven process built at the major firms where C5P’s players have practiced, our approach reflects the desire of client public entities to be able to identify, track, consolidate and put into perspective the normative, technical and economic parameters of the various economic activities they engage in. It therefore draws upon knowledge under all these heads, but public legal entities expect a method that is able to gather them together and handle them jointly. That’s why we regularly make use of a cost analysis model based on the ABC / ABM method (see “La méthode ABC/ABM,” NEF 1998), which allows “value to be added to expenses, within a multidimensional approach combining an understanding of the use of resources and distribution of costs.”

Economic and financial feasibility studies

Depending on the progress and maturity of the projects designed by local communities and their representatives, we have been brought in to collaborate with public entities and partner law firms in studying the legal and financial conditions conducive to successful completion of the projects under consideration. In these actions, we have performed either :

  • Positioning studies in collaboration with firms specialising in the subject at hand (hydrotherapy, business tourism…), which provide the market study and comparative studies on comparable facilities
  • More or less detailed financial studies, such as business plans, profitability analyses, or simulations allowing verification of the operation’s balanced conditions
  • Per diem price calculations for social welfare institutions and healthcare centres

Transfers of powers / Inter-municipal cooperation

After the Chevènement Laws of 1999, and those passed in 2004 and known as Act II of the Decentralisation Process between Regions/Departments and the State, and further laws likely to be passed, issues regarding the exercise of authority at the most appropriate administrative division level in light of the mergers, consolidations and transfers of powers, we provide effective support – drawing on our experience working with the major audit networks in the area of areas of competence, inter-municipal structures, and communities – in the analysis, organisation and transfer of jurisdiction among municipalities / EPCIs, between Universities, between State/Regions or between State/Department. The following is a non-exhaustive list of a few of the projects we have carried out :

  • Support for the establishment of structures for inter-municipal cooperation.
  • Support for the transformation of existing structures into more integrated structures.
  • Support for transfers of new powers.

Financial and organisational audits and procedural auditing

In light of the challenges of efficiency and effectiveness in the governance, organisation and management of local administrative activity, local authorities have to enter into contact with service providers capable of supporting them in facing changes and issues as diverse as :

  • The strategy and organisation of a public service following the development of a service plan.
  • Identifying and improving internal procedures after audits.
  • Financial analysis of an elderly persons’ nursing home or decentralised service (CCAS).
  • Organisational and management auditing of subsidised structures.

C5P works in this area of competence with support from partners specialising in the fields of human resources and governance, such as APORH or RH For You.

Compétences   Finances publiques et amélioration de la performance

Finances publiques et amélioration de la performance

Diagnostic et prospective financière

Pour réaliser une analyse financière des comptes de la structure publique, nous proposons une méthode issue de nos expériences passées dans les grands cabinets réseaux d’audits au sein des départements Secteur Public. Elle repose sur une analyse dynamique et multifactorielle, en ce sens qu’elle utilise et croise les différentes méthodes d’analyse développées par ces grands cabinets les fondamentaux de la comptabilité publique locale à travers les nomenclatures comptables (M14, M4, M52, M71, M21…) et les principes de gestion budgétaire applicables au Secteur Public. Elle permet ainsi de disposer d’un traitement exhaustif des données (Comptes de gestion, comptes administratifs, et budgets primitifs) à travers plusieurs approches :

  • Les soldes intermédiaires de gestion permettant d’analyser le résultat de fonctionnement et le niveau de solvabilité de l’entité publique (budget principal et budget annexes)
  • Le tableau de situation financière, bilan de l’entité publique présentant les évolutions des postes entre deux exercices et détaillant le niveau de liquidité à la clôture des comptes,
  • Le tableau d’analyse des flux permettant d’analyser de manière dynamique l’évolution de la trésorerie de l’entité publique et ses principales causes.

Orientée pour être une aide à la décision, nous avons bâti des supports de présentation des résultats et des analyses que nous présenterons autant que de besoin. Cette approche, au cœur de l’action publique à travers des évaluations et des anticipations associées à telle ou telle décision publique constitue la nouvelle démarche de gouvernance de l’action publique.

Elle permet selon nous de prendre conscience progressivement et de manière interactive des principaux enjeux afin d’appuyer sereinement des décisions publiques. Elle est au centre de notre approche et constitue une véritable valeur ajoutée à la démarche que nous vous proposons.

Contrôle de gestion, connaissance des coûts et mise en place de comptabilité analytique

Plus que jamais, les structures publiques (Hôpitaux, Collectivités locales, EPCI, Régions et Départements) et leurs satellites sont amenés identifiés et pilotés l’évolution de leurs structures de coûts afin de préserver leurs marges de manœuvre. Leur objectif peut se résumer ainsi : piloter la dépense publique pour assurer au mieux le service public.

Ainsi, s’appuyant sur des démarches éprouvées bâties dans les grands cabinets où les intervenants de C5P ont exercé, notre approche traduit la volonté des clients publics à vouloir être capable de recenser, tracer, consolider et mettre en perspective des paramètres normatifs, techniques et économiques des différentes activités qu’elles exercent. Elle fait donc appel à des connaissances au sein de tous ces registres mais la personne publique attend une méthode capable de les regrouper et de les traiter de manière conjointe. Pour cette raison, nous utilisons assez régulièrement le modèle d’analyse des coûts basée sur la méthode ABC/ABM (réf« La méthode ABC/ABM » N.E.F 1998) qui permet de « Valoriser les coûts dans une approche multidimensionnelle conjuguant la compréhension de l’utilisation des moyens et la répartition des coûts ».

Etudes de faisabilité économique et financière

En fonction de l’avancement et de la maturité des projets imaginés par les collectivités et leurs représentants, nous sommes amenés à étudier conjointement avec les personnes publiques et des cabinets avocats partenaires, les conditions juridiques et financières concourant à la bonne fin des projets envisagés. Dans ces interventions, nous réalisons indifféremment :

  • Des études de positionnement en lien avec des cabinets spécialisés dans la thématique (thermalisme, tourisme d’affaires…) qui assurent l’étude de marché et les études comparatives sur des équipements comparables.
  • Des études financières plus ou moins détaillés telle que des business plan, des analyses de la rentabilité, des simulations permettant de vérifier les conditions d’équilibre de l’opération.
  • Des calculs de prix de journée pour les établissements sociaux et médico sociaux

Transfert de compétences / Intercommunalité

Après les lois Chevènement de 1999, celles de 2004 sur l’acte II de la décentralisation entre Régions/départements et Etat, et vraisemblablement celles à venir, les problématiques d’exercice de compétences au meilleur échelon territorial avec des fusions, des regroupements et des transfert de compétences, nous accompagnons efficacement fort de nos expériences passées dans les grands réseaux d’audits dans ce domaine de compétences, les structures intercommunales et les collectivités dans l’analyse, l’organisation et le transfert de compétences entre communes/EPCI, entre Universités, entre Etat/Région ou entre Etat/Département. Parmi les missions que nous avons réalisées et sans prétendre à l’exhaustivité :

  • Accompagnement à la constitution de structures de coopération intercommunales.
  • Accompagnement à la transformation de structures existantes en structures plus intégrées.
  • Accompagnement au transfert de nouvelles compétences.

Audit financier, organisationnel et audit de procédures

Face aux défis d’efficacité et d’efficience dans la gouvernance, l’organisation et la gestion de l’action publique locale, les collectivités locales sont amenées à prendre l’attache de prestataires à même de les accompagner dans les mutations et les problématiques aussi diverses que :

  • La stratégie et l’organisation d’un service suite à l’élaboration d’un projet de service.
  • L’identification et l’amélioration des procédures internes suite à des audits.
  • L’analyse financière d’un EHPAD ou d’un service déconcentré (CCAS).
  • L’audit d’organisation et de gestion de structures subventionnées.

C5P intervient sur ce champ de compétences avec l’appui de partenaires spécialisés dans les ressources humaines et la gouvernance tels que APORH ou RH for you.